Reviews

7.6
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
6.9
Property Location
9.0
Facilities
6.6
Staff
8.0
Value
7.0

Reviews

    LAFelix97
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    May 13, 2018

    Great place to stay without paying Union Square price. Friendly staff.

    Unique designed room, great location near Chinatown / Union Square.
    Miller Royer
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    May 13, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tony Huang
    us

    Review Score

    7.1
    May 10, 2018
    Outdated and too noisy at night.
    Great location. Special decision.
    Angeli
    us

    Review Score

    10
    May 6, 2018

    very nice! i will recommend this to everyone i know

    alan
    nz

    Review Score

    7.9
    May 5, 2018

    Would stay again as quirky and great location

    Noisy had to move room after first night club underneath was really noisy Bathroom a bit basic no where to put anything down
    Great location and staff
    Jacob
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    May 4, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Robin
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 25, 2018

    Great value and fun place, perfect for my solo stay in safe area.

    Windows are old
    Location for exploring art culture, friendly and helpful staff
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    April 20, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    travelers123
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 15, 2018

    Loved this wonderful boutique hotel in a great location.

    Can't think of anything!!
    Hotel has an excellent location, and a good price. Convenient parking for less than the typical hotel parking charges. Loved the decor and the room was very comfortable. It is on the small size, but this IS San Francisco and an old hotel. Beautifully updated!!
    Marguerett
    ky

    Review Score

    7.1
    May 20, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jennifer
    au

    Review Score

    8.3
    May 17, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gilad
    il

    Review Score

    10
    May 13, 2018
    Everything was perfect at the hotel. Great breakfast!
    sg

    Review Score

    6.7
    May 7, 2018
    A little cramped shower; TV did not work well and slightly noisy
    Cool, themed rooms. The staff were helpful and friendly
    Remy
    nl

    Review Score

    7.5
    May 6, 2018
    The rooms are quite small, and the breakfast buffet is rather simple. But that's what we expected considering the price so no problem.
    Excellent location, close to parking, Union Square and Chinatown
    Renae
    au

    Review Score

    10
    April 29, 2018

    Loved Hotel Des Arts! Great central location, friendly staff, unique rooms that are a must see!

    Great location, friendly staff and unique rooms!
    Lorena
    gb

    Review Score

    7.9
    April 25, 2018
    The breakfast is quite basic, not really much options. The size of the shower is quite small. There is not really parking available. We needed to pay nearly $40 dollars for parking over night in a nearby parking facility.
    The decoration of the hotel and the room is really nice and artistic, definitely, it is something different. The staff working during the day is fantastic and really helpful. The location is fantastic and the surrounding areas are fairly secure.
    Jacobus
    nl

    Review Score

    7.1
    April 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Krassimir
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 24, 2018

    Good

    This is an old (historic?) building and the elevator and the stairs do not meet the current standards. Especially the stairs-it is like a hiking experience, which is fine, I've done some extreme mountain climbs, but I would not recommend this to elderly. Also the sink had separate hot/cold water faucets, kinda 'vintage classic' style. However, it wasn't important for the purpose of this particular trip, and i guess, nothing can be done, I am sure the management is aware of the situation, but the building was built this way-this is just a detail, not a negative comment.
    Location, staff. The room was just fine, clean, unique, hot water, good water pressure. Exactly what we needed for the purpose of this (short) trip.
    Evan
    au

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 20, 2018

    A funky and comfortable little home to head back to after a long day.

    Band noise from the bar downstairs might bother some people (weekends only). Others (like me) might find this a positive!
    Great location if you are in town for a conference, great art decorating the whole building.
    cesikkenga
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    April 18, 2018

    Fun and funky gem in a great San Francisco location.

    Clawfoot tub wasn't a problem for me, but for elderly or less mobile travellers, could be a bit tricky. There is a bit of an old building smell to the place. On my first night there was loud "conversation" coming from the courtyard area outside my window until the wee small hours.
    I'm happy to say the Hotel DesArts is one of my favorite funky hotels ever. The rooms are small but well-appointed with a walk in closet and bathrooms highlighted by a clawfoot tub. Best of all is the decor. Each room here was done by a different artist. I stayed in the Marilyn Monroe room, which, judging by website photos is one of the less garish rooms on site. It was fun. It lacks the bells and whistles of a high-end chain hotel, but has twice the charm and personality. I'd stay again in a minute. Amenities are basic. Queen bed (not the most comfortable mattress I've slept on and a little imbalanced but after a long day at a convention and a lot of walking up and down San Fran's hills, I could have slept on the floor. Bathroom is small. Small desk and a 28-inch flatscreen TV which I never even turned on. View is of a tiny courtyard--or more properly, neighbors' windows. I kept the blinds down. Didn't check out/use the free breakfast but it appeared to be on the basic end of basic. Elevator is old and slow--but kind of charming. Even with a bar on site, it was quiet three of the four nights I stayed. There is, however, a bit of an old building aroma to the place. Location is great--half a block from the Chinatown gate and easily walkable to many hot spots as well as mass public transportation options at Market Street. The hotel is on a block with several cafes, bars and less than a block from a 7-Eleven. This being San Francisco, you're never far from a homeless population but the street is well-lit at night and even coming from a small town in the Midwest, I never felt uncomfortable. Staff is friendly, approachable, eager to help. Overall, a great property and exactly what I was hoping for when I booked.
Loading reviews...